Rubber Chickens In The Arts

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here’s another fun Library District competition I entered in 2010 using all recycled materials.  This was a challenging and fun project because it forced me to use rubber chickens in a creative way to promote reading.

I entitled my piece William Shakespeare’s “Omelet.”

I received the “Most Creative Individual” award 🙂

Materials
Stage Base: Old box painted black

Plastic Egg (on stage floor) and Rubber Chickens – “Omelet and Horatio” donated by a neighbor

Stage backdrop: Old book painted black, then pasted background graphics I created on to it

Front and Back of the book: pasted graphics of “Omelet” title and of William Shakespeare with “No rubberChickens were harmeth…”

Capes and tunics: sewn from recycled materials (cotton, silk, suede) from my arts and crafts box

Props: Graphics of tombstones printed and then cut out. Omelet holds a broken eggshell in his hand.  Bookmark made from recycled gold ribbon and a feather

I really love to play with words and after the project was done I regretted not calling my project “Sheggspeare’s Omelet.”  I also regretted not calling Horatio by “Horeggio.”  At the time I made the project, I figured “Omelet” and “Yolkick” was plenty and using more would have been overkill.

This project was so much fun, I actually made a short 1.25 minute video and entitled it “Sheggspeare’s Omelet” where I did use Horeggio. Here’s the link below if you wish to view it.  Please watch it through the credits which is where you will really see my love of playing with words. 😉

Enjoy!  Hope you have had an “egg”cellent time!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharmishtha Basu
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 05:36:50

    you are a real artist! i wish you lived nearby!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

