“Granny” Clothespin Doll

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here’s a clothespin doll I did not make but would like to share with you.

What a great find!  I purchased this “Granny” clothespin doll at a garage sale for 25 cents about 15 years ago!!!!!

I asked the person I purchased “Granny” from if they made it or knew who did. They shrugged their shoulders and said they found it in an old sewing box they found in the attic when they purchased their home.  I found lots of treasures that day and “Granny” was one of them ! 🙂

Granny’s hair:  cotton ball topped with a piece of lace for her hat.

Granny’s eyeglasses: piece of wire.

Granny’s dress: small piece of white lace at neck with flower patterned cotton material (hand stitched seam in the back).

Granny does not have pipe cleaners for arms.  Granny’s maker cut pink felt for hands and glued the hands to the green felt shawl.

Enjoy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. E.C.
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 00:52:20

    Granny is really a great work of art. Some one did a great job making her.
    What a wonderful find she was. I’m glad you have her because you’ll take care of her and appreciate the work of heart that went into making her. 🙂

    Reply

  2. dollsofthewoods
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 05:34:37

    Thanks E.C. Granny is a work of art and I do appreciate the heart that went into making her. Clothespin doll making is an esoteric art form. Most people wonder why I do it. I just love the challenge of taking an ordinary clothespin and whatever I have in my craft box and creating a character.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

